Home

Thought I could share a handy new workflow that we have been trying to use recently in my class ( Grade 7/8 French Immersion). Having spent some time this year digging deeper into the Common European Framework (CEFR) and the importance of Pedagogical Documentation . I found it important to find a way for students to start building oral communication portfolios.

Two things have really helped make this possible:
1) An influx of iPads into my class that has brought us relatively close to a 1:1 ratio (with BYOD we are). Students can access a device to easily record a part of an activity without having to wait for others.

2) Our board registered for GAFE (Google Apps for Education). The importance of this is tied to the fact that with a registered GAFE account student get unlimited storage in Google Drive. I say again, UNLIMITED! Oh yea…. Unlimited free storage.

This is the method I choose to use, if you have another way I would certainly love to hear it. There is always room for improvement.

Searched and found an app, Voice Record Pro and practiced using it on my own (a very important step that can get overlooked when incorporating new apps/edtech). I decided that I liked this app because it is free and because of the many ways that you can share your clips.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/340/75045978/files/2014/12/img_0119.png

We developed and practiced the simple workflow together as a class.

1) Make a recording (we are finding all kinds of uses).

2) Give the recording a detailed title (VRP gives all recordings a time/date stamp title, but more info is needed for ease of organization).

3) Students save their work to Google Drive (this automatically creates a folder in their drive for VCP recordings).

4) Students then share the folder with me. Once they share the folder with me the first time they no longer have to remember to share individual files with me.

5) I can then review, respond and provide feedback in the comments or face to face or with a recording of my own.

Posting tasks and activities using our Google Classrooms provides even more organizational structure for me as the recordings will also be filed within the task folder.

Some things that have popped up, the importance of creating clear titles for each recording and the importance of managing our Drive accounts. Also when sharing devices we are finding that it is really important to remember to sign in and out of Drive properly, both on Safari and the Drive app.

The next step for me us finding a simple way to share student work as part of the Pedagogical Documentation process.

Let me know if this works for you, or if you have a better/easier way.

Leave a Reply

